IU Southeast professor receives John W. Ryan Award

16th April 2015
Dr. Magdalena Herdoiza-Esevez

Dr. Magdalena Herdoiza-Estevez

Dr. Magdalena Herdoiza-Estevez, IU Southeast School of Education professor, is a recipient of the 2015 John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies.

Indiana University president, Michael McRobbie, presented the award and other awards during the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching on Friday, April 10, 2015, at Indiana University.

Herdoiza-Estevez is the first faculty member in the School of Education and the second faculty member at IU Southeast to receive the John W. Ryan Award.

Herdoiza-Estevez conceived the IU Southeast Summer in Ecuador program in 2001, and the first IU Southeast trip to Ecuador occurred in 2002. IU Southeast students from all majors can participate in the program, which has occurred annually for 13 years.

At IU Southeast, Herdoiza-Estevez has researched intercultural education and curriculum planning and design. Her professional interests include international education and the sociology of education.

Herdoiza-Estevez is also the IU Southeast New Neighbors Project director. The New Neighbors Project develops best practices to help students learn English successfully.

The John W. Ryan Award honors faculty members and librarians from all IU campuses for noteworthy contributions to the university’s international programs and studies. The award was initiated in 1991.

Annually, up to two of these awards are presented to full-time, tenure-line faculty members from any IU campus. Faculty members are nominated by colleagues, chairs, deans and university administrators.

The John W. Ryan Award is named for late Indiana University president emeritus John W. Ryan. Ryan led the university from 1971 to 1987, and he helped cultivate IU’s commitment to quality international education programs.

Each spring, the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching honors faculty members from all IU campuses. The celebration is part of Founders Day, which marks the anniversary of Indiana University’s founding in 1820.

In addition to award presentations, the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching features a reception, musical entertainment and a dinner for honored faculty members and guests.

TAGS: , , , ,