Teacher educator Dr. Debi Mink awarded National Clinical Practice Fellowship11th October 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–Dr. Debi Mink, professor of elementary education, has received the 2020 National Clinical Practice Fellowship from the Association of Teacher Educators (ATE) and the National Association for Professional Development Schools (NAPDS). The award will help the IU Southeast School of Education strengthen its clinical practice program. Clinical Practice Fellows attend …

FULL STORY | TAGS: , , , ,

Inaugural Faculty Research/Creativity Day showcases scholarship and impact21st September 2019

(NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–Ever wonder what IU Southeast instructors do when they’re not teaching? The answer will be revealed on Friday, September 27 at the inaugural IU Southeast Faculty Research/Creativity day, a showcase of scholarly endeavor for one and all. Faculty from every school will present their most recent and/or compelling work. Students and community members …


Campus community recognizes recipients of 2019 Distinguished Teaching and Service Awards18th September 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–As part of the annual State of the Campus ceremony, Chancellor Dr. Ray Wallace presented the 2019 Distinguished Teaching and Service Awards. Recipients were introduced by Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Uric Dufrene and Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs Dana Wavle. Faculty Innovator of the Year Dr. Suparna …


IU Southeast to celebrate faculty research and creativity10th September 2019

NEW ALBANY, Ind. – IU Southeast will highlight the breadth of faculty research and innovation during Indiana University’s 200 Festival—the official kick-off to IU’s year-long bicentennial celebration. IU Southeast faculty will participate in a Faculty Research & Creativity Day on Friday, Sept. 27, 2019. The community is invited to discover the important work and impacts …


Faculty Innovators: Aaron Setterdahl and Lisa Russell3rd September 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–Donum Dei Brewery in New Albany seems like a strange place to hold a chemistry class. But for students of Dr. Aaron Setterdahl, associate professor of chemistry at IU Southeast, it’s the logical setting for a course in beer science. On an afternoon in the first summer session, a half-dozen …

FULL STORY | TAGS: , , , ,

Dr. Rachel Star earns important role in teacher education accrediting body26th August 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–Dr. Rachel Star, assistant professor of education, has just completed an impressive journey. She is now an official site visitor for the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), the organization that accredits schools of education, including the School of Education at IU Southeast. She joins Dr. Doyin Coker-Kolo …


Grant for augmented reality boosts STEM teacher education at IU Southeast22nd July 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–STEM teacher education at IU Southeast has received a significant grant from the Women’s Philanthropy Leadership Council at IU. The award in the amount of $18,000 will enable teacher candidates in the sciences to become familiar with augmented reality (AR) technology and to transform their STEM classrooms into spaces for …

FULL STORY | TAGS: , , , ,

Adam Booth selected as IU Mosaic Fellow12th July 2019

By Steven Krolak (NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–Adam Booth, visiting assistant nursing professor, has been selected as an Indiana University Mosaic Fellow. The Mosaic Initiative supports innovative classroom design, research and active learning in all IU classrooms. The goals of the Mosaic Initiative are to prepare faculty to teach in active learning classrooms, build a community of …


Indiana University Southeast

4201 Grant Line Rd.
New Albany, IN 47150
(812) 941-2333

View the website in Español