IU Southeast faculty members receive Trustees Teaching Awards

22nd May 2019

Eight IU Southeast faculty have received IU Trustees Teaching Awards for the 2018 calendar year.

The IU Trustees Teaching Awards were first awarded in 2000-2001 to recognize and enhance excellent teaching, especially at the undergraduate level. The awards are open to tenured and tenure-track faculty, as well as full-time lecturers and clinical faculty primarily involved in teaching.

Faculty who receive the awards have distinguished themselves as educators in the broadest sense during the calendar year, providing excellent and innovative classroom experiences while also offering students opportunities for further immersion and maintaining their own presence in their fields, such as through peer-reviewed publications and presentations at scholarly conferences, in order to inform and enliven their instruction with the most current ideas and practices.

The 2018 IU Trustees Teaching Award recipients at IU Southeast are:

Sumreen Asim, Assistant Professor of Education, School of Education

Jon Bingham, Lecturer in Economics, School of Business

Kathryn Ernstberger, Professor of Business Administration, School of Business

Adam Maksl, Associate Professor of Journalism, School of Social Sciences

Todd Manson, Associate Professor of Psychology, School of Social Sciences

Margot Morgan, Assistant Professor of Political Science, School of Social Sciences

Jennifer Ortiz, Assistant Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, School of Social Sciences

Diane Russell, Senior Lecturer in English, School of Arts and Letters

Each year recipients are recommended to the Chancellor and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs by the Improvement of Learning Committee (IOLC) based on dossiers submitted by faculty. These dossiers give faculty the opportunity to express their teaching philosophy and goals, provide evidence of the impact of their approach on student learning outcomes, detail their contribution as leaders for the enhancement of teaching and learning, and show how they have facilitated learning outside the classroom.

Evaluations are based on teaching goals/learning outcomes, evidence of student learning and teaching effectiveness, professional development, and how effectively the instructor has been as a catalyst for the enhancement of teaching and learning. Peer and student evaluations may also play a role in determining the award. The final determination is made by the Chancellor.

“Fine teaching is a point of pride at Indiana University Southeast ,” said Dr. Angela Salas, outgoing associate vice chancellor for academic affairs. “Therefore, earning a Trustees Teaching Award means that, during the year of the award, an individual faculty member has achieved at an extraordinary level, delivering excellent and informed instruction and mentorship, while exhibiting devotion to the concept of continuous improvement on behalf of our students.”

Homepage photo (from left): Diane Russell, Sumreen Asim, Todd Manson, Kathryn Ernstberger, Jennifer Ortiz. Not pictured: John Bingham, Adam Maksl, Margot Morgan.

TAGS: , ,