State of the Campus: Strong

27th September 2018

By Steven Krolak

(NEW ALBANY, Ind.)–IU Southeast Chancellor Dr. Ray Wallace delivered this year’s State of the Campus address, sounding a positive note.

“The IU Southeast campus is, after a necessary fiscal realignment, in a very robust position with durable advances in all areas,” Wallace said.

Detailing the many steps taken across all campus units over the past year to streamline expenditures, Wallace presented a wealth of accomplishments.


  • First-year undergraduate enrollment surged by 9.2% for the incoming class;
  • IU Southeast’s four-year graduation rate has more than doubled since 2013, and the six-year graduation rate is at an all-time high;
  • The School of Nursing’s class of 2018 had a 97% pass rate on the RN licensing exam (the national average is 84%);
  • IU Southeast was named an NAIA Champions of Character Gold-Level Institution for the third consecutive year;
  • Graduate programs have seen a 49.6% increase in student headcount and a 30% increase in credit hours;
  • Student volunteers logged 12,104 hours during 2017-18 last year, an 11.6% increase over 2016-17;
  • The Ogle Center presented more than 100 professional performances and community events, serving more than 28,000 patrons;
  • IU Southeast was awarded $273,760 in non-governmental grants and $267,000 in governmental grants in the past fiscal year;
  • IU Southeast has raised $12.6 million toward the $14 million goal for the IU Bicentennial Campaign, including the largest single commitment in the school’s history.

Wallace concluded his remarks by encouraging faculty and staff to adopt a recruitment mindset, and to continue to foster student success.

Prior to the address, the 2018 Distinguished Teaching and Service Awards were presented by Darlene Young, director of staff equity & diversity, Dr. Uric Dufrene, executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Dana Wavle, vice chancellor for administrative affairs.

Faculty Innovator of the Year Award
Dr. Margot Morgan, School of Social Sciences

Distinguished Research & Creativity, Senior Award
Dr. Doug Barney, School of Business

Distinguished Research & Creativity, Junior Award
Prof. Tiffany Carbonneau, School of Arts & Letters

Distinguished Teaching Award, Full-Time Faculty
Dr. Doug Barney, School of Social Sciences

Distinguished Teaching Award, Part-Time Faculty
Dr. Terry Burger, School of Social Sciences

Distinguished Service/Maintenance Award
Lesa Dean, Facility Operations

Distinguished Service, Clerical Award
Mary Patterson, Office of the Registrar

Distinguished Service, Professional/Technical Award
Julie Ingram, Conference and Dining Services

Diversity Award
Dr. Jennifer Ortiz, School of Social Sciences

2018 FACET Inductee
Dr. Lisa Hoffman, School of Education

In closing, the campus community recognized new faculty, new staff and retired colleagues from all areas.

Homepage photo: Dr. Doug Barney (c), professor of accounting, receives the Distinguished Teaching Award for Senior Faculty from Dr. Uric Dufrene (l), executive vice chancellor for academic affairs, and Chancellor Dr. Ray Wallace (r). Barney also received the Distinguished Research and Creativity Senior Award.

TAGS: , , , ,