Service Recognition Reception honors sustained dedication to IU Southeast

20th October 2017
56 faculty and staff employees are recognized for their work totalling 1,015 years.

Attendees at the Service Recognition Reception were among 56 faculty and staff employees honored for their work totaling 1,015 years of service.

By Steven Krolak

(NEW ALBANY, Ind.)—Chancellor Dr. Ray Wallace and campus leaders acknowledged the contributions of faculty and staff at this year’s service recognition reception.

In his opening remarks, Chancellor Wallace noted that the group of employees ranging in age from 34 to 77 had devoted a total of 1,015 years of service to the university in administrative, teaching, maintenance, advising and other roles.

Chancellor Wallace, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Uric Dufrene, Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs Dana Wavle and Interim Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs Amanda Stonecipher recognized individual milestones in their respective areas.

Biographies revealed an energetic and eclectic community with a shared dedication to building IU Southeast into a pre-eminent institution over time through a devotion to the core values of creating a nurturing environment, holistic learning, integrity and connectedness.

Two staff members, Phyllis Nachand, acquisitions assistant in the IU Southeast library and Mark Kessinger, grounds and landscape staff, have sustained that devotion for 40 years. Saundra Gordon, manager of General Studies, has been with IU Southeast for 30 years. Dr. Johanna Goldstein, professor of music, and Dr. Richard French, professor of accounting, were recognized for their 35 and 30 years respectively.

Mark Kessinger, grounds service staff, with Chancellor Wallace. Kessinger has served for 40 years.

Mark Kessinger, grounds service staff, receives a recognition of his 40 years of service from Chancellor Dr. Ray Wallace.

The honorees for 2017 are as follows:

Charlotte Dubois School of Education 15 years
Debra Voyles Applied Research 20 years
Sandy Forrest Office of the Registrar 20 years
Saundra Gordon Continuing Studies 30 years
Leigh Ann Meyer Arts & Letters 20 years
Donna Harvey Office of the Chancellor 25 years
Mark Kessinger Facility Operations 40 years
Ken Atkins Ogle Center 15 years
Steve Miller Police Department 15 years
Jennifer Hershfield Administrative Affairs 10 years
Dodie Swords-Simms Arts & Letters 15 years
Sean Engleman Facility Operations 15 years
Dana Gohmann Social Sciences 10 years
Darryl Parker Facility Operations 10 years
Wiley Brown Athletics 10 years
Abbi Kelly Social Sciences 10 years
Bettie Ann Ricketts Facility Operations 20 years
Sarah Ruff Accounting Services 10 years
Jo Lord Facility Operations 20 years
Phyllis Nachand Library 40 years
Basil Mumaw UITS 10 years
Joanna Goldstein Arts & Letters 35 years
Richard French Business 30 years
Janardhanan Alse Business 25 years
Chris Bjornson Business 25 years
Delaine Cochran Natural Sciences 25 years
Donna Dahlgren Social Sciences 25 years
Deborah Finkel Social Sciences 25 years
Joseph Hollingsworth Natural Sciences 25 years
Paul Pittman Business 25 years
Eric Schansberg Business 25 years
Annette Wyandotte Academic Affairs 25 years
Kent Edmonds Natural Sciences 20 years
Ghansham Manwani Natural Sciences 20 years
Judy Myers Nursing 20 years
Barbara Thompson-Book Education 20 years
Jonathan Bingham Business 15 years
Kimberly Bonacci Natural Sciences 15 years
Neil Brewer Education 15 years
William Farrell Social Sciences 15 years
Jan Fleisher Natural Sciences 15 years
James Hollenbeck Education 15 years
Sandra Patterson-Randles Arts & Letters 15 years
Greg Phipps Social Sciences 15 years
Arun Srinivasan Business 15 years
Chang Oan Sung Natural Sciences 15 years
David Treves Natural Sciences 15 years
Maria Accardi Library 10 years
Sau Hou Chang Education 10 years
Pam Connerly Natural Sciences 10 years
Christopher Cox Business 10 years
Michael Harris Business 10 years
Michael Jackman Arts & Letters 10 years
Cynthia Light Natural Sciences 10 years
Sridhar Ramachandran Natural Sciences 10 years
Kelly Ryan Social Sciences 10 years
Aaron Setterdahl Natural Sciences 10 years

The Service Recognition Reception is organized by the IU Southeast Office of Human Resources.

Homepage photo: Phyllis Nachand, acquisitions assistant in the IU Southeast library, receives a commemorative plaque honoring her 40 years of service to the university.

TAGS: , ,