IU Southeast announces annual alumni award winners

26th April 2013

NEW ALBANY, IN, (April 26, 2013) – Indiana University Southeast has awarded the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award to alumnus John D. Johnston.

IU Southeast’s annual Distinguished Alumni Award Luncheon was held April 23 in the Hoosier Room and honored Johnston and six other alumni.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is awarded to an alumnus or alumna who has had considerable personal, professional accomplishments, community service and involvement with the school and alumni.

Johnston, B.A. ’76, has always been an active member of the IU Southeast community. As an undergraduate chemistry major he acted as a liaison for the school of Natural Sciences to the Student Foundation, and raised $10,000 for diabetes research while being the first president of the Circle K Club. Upon graduation he was promoted to the top position in at George Pfau’s Sons Company, a local processor of customized specialty oils. He was the first IU Southeast Alumni Association representative on the IU Alumni Association (IUAA) National Board, and the first IU Southeast representative on the IUAA Executive Council.

Six other IU Southeast alumni were given the Alumni Award of Excellence, which recognizes one alumnus or alumna from each of the University’s six schools. The 2013 Alumni Award of Excellence winners are:

  • Nathan W. Wheatley, School of Arts and Letters
  • Anthony A. Schoen, School of Business
  • Robin L. Fankhauser, School of Education
  • Kathryn A. Ernstberger, School of Natural Sciences
  • Angela L. Banet, School of Nursing
  • Paula Y. Mullineaux, School of Social Sciences
TAGS: , ,